NC Cyclocross

Motivational Monday: ‘Tis Cyclocross Season

The weather is cooler, the days are getting shorter and this means one thing. Cyclocross.

The season in the southeast normally doesn’t start until mid fall but more and more groups are getting on board and we should have a couple series in the area to attend.

‘Cross “Race” Calendar

September 4th - (Tentative) Tuesday Nights Under the Lights in Boone, NC

September 8th – Asheville CX Kick Off in Bent Creek Park

September 29-30 - Tennessee MSG in Kingsport

October 6-7 - Tennessee MSG in Unicoi

October 14th - Asheville CX at Pisgah Brewery

NC CX Race Series: 

Race #1 – Sat. October 20, 2012 – Southern Pines, NC 
Race #2 – Sun. October 21, 2012 – Raleigh, NC 
Race #3 – Sun. October 28, 2012 – Boone, NC 
Race #4 – Sun. November 4, 2012 – Salisbury, NC Not in town
Race #5 – Sun. November 11, 2012 – Wilkesboro, NC
Race #6 –  Sat. November 17, 2012 – Durham, NC

Race #7 – Sun. November 18, 2012 – Statesville, NC
Race #8 – Sun.December 2, 2012 – Charlotte, NC

Race #9 – Sun. December 9, 2012 – Winston Salem, NC 
Race #10 – Sat. December 15, 2012 -UCI NCGP  - Hendersonville, NC
Race  #11 – Sun. December 16, 2012 – UCI NCGP – Hendersonville, NC

NC CX Winter Series:

Race #12 – Sat. January 5, 2013 – Raleigh, NC 
Race #13 – Sun. January 6, 2013 – Fayetteville, NC      
Race #14 – Sat. January 19, 2013 – Winston Salem, NC
Race #15 – Sun. January 20, 2013 – Greensboro, NC

Carla Swart

Take a Moment for Carla Swart

I didn’t know Carla Swart, though she went to college an hour from my home and many of my friends rode, races or coached her.   I’ve heard rumors about Carla.   A girl that was ripping legs off at Nationals,  a girl from North Carolina winning big time cyclocross races, a down to earth girl that was fast and genuine.

For full details on Carla’s accident and reasons for death do a quick google search.

Take a Moment

While on your ride, at the gym or while taking a walk please take a moment and say a prayer for Carla’s passing and her family.  I wish all of my readers safe travels during their rides over the weekend.  Please make sure to look all around you and take your safety over convenience everyday.

Photo Credit : USA Today